Race on Loughborough Pheonix 2 x 5.4 mile course. Date unknown
NameClubBike / gearTimeMPH

Lorna Wray (L)

Milton Keynes CC

1967 F.W.Evans, S-A FW Hybrid



p>Keith Wileman

Portsmouth CTC/L.PCC

1904 Sunbeam 2 speed



Ian Newton

Nottingham CTC/L.PCC

1939 Raleigh Silver Record, S-A AM



Ron Johnson

Leicester Forest CC

1938 Dawes Tourer, resilion brakes



Peter Underwood

Cambridge (T&C) CC

1956 Maclean Super Eclipse, 1952 S-A FM



Patricia Killiard (L)

Cambridge (T&C) CC

1948 Hobbs Superbe, 1952 S-A FM



David Lovegrove

Halesowen A. & CC

1947 Paragon, 1948 S-A FW



Morgan Reynolds

Hinckley CRC

1948 Carpenter, S-A AM



Steve George

Maldon & District CC

c1935 BSA, S-A AW



Phil Wray

Milton Keynes CC

1939 Carlton Flyer, S-A AW



Roger Bugg

Veteran Cycles RC

1935 J.A.Grose, S-A K6



Dick Hanson

Cheltenham & County CC

Unidentified track iron, S-A AW



Brian Donnan

Cheltenham & County CC

1985 Cheltenham Pedersen, S-A FC



Mike Christy

National Clarion

1892 Crypto-gear front driver, pneumatic tyres



Cathy Melia (L)

Tandem Club

Brompton, S-A S5



Graham Lansdell

Tandem Club

1968 Mercian, S-A ASC



James Cooper

Rockingham Forest Wheelers

1968 Moulton Major, Fichtel Sachs 2 speed



Paul Cooper

Rockingham Forest Wheelers

1967 Moulton Speed, S-A FW5



Minoru Mitsumoto

Farnborough & CamberleyCC

1950s Raleigh Record Ace, S-A ASC



Andrew Thompson

Loughborough RC

1960s Viking Lady’s Shopper, S-A AW


Chris Thompson

Loughborough RC

1938 Bates ‘Vegrandis’, S-A AM



Tim Dawson

Veteran Cycles RC

1912 BSA Road Racer



David Eccles

Redmon CC

1950s Ephgrave, S-A AM



David Westwood

Warwick Road Club

c.1910 Dursley Pedersen, Pedersen 3 speed



Roger Walker

Loughborough RC 1974 Holdsworth, S-A AW 28-59 22.36
Outcomes, prizes, excuses etc.
* inc 7 mins late start Marshals: David Bousfield, David Cole, Ann Danvers, Eric Danvers. Pusher-off: Martyn Temple. The Trophy for best time went to Chris Thompson, a Tin Man T-shirt to Patricia Killiard for best ladies’ time, a T-shirt to Mike Christy for oldest machine, and one to David Cole for best cake, the Loughborough Sock to Andrew Thompson for worst mechanical failure, a paper aeroplane to Minoru Mitsumoto for most punctures and a T-shirt to Brian Donnan* in case he goes to Spain. As ever we are indebted to Stuart and Betty Crick and Eileen Johnson, plus all their helpers in the Loughborough Phoenix and of course to everyone who made and brought cakes.

David Eccles' 2004 Tin Can Report

You know that this event has been a success when you get the result board back and find that the rain splashes are outnumbered by smudges of ginger and chocolate cake. The threatened rain did come this year but fortunately not so heavily as to dampen the spirits of the second half of the field.

The shower arriving later was lucky for Keith Wileman whose perfectly turned-out Patterson tweed plusses must become very heavy if caught in the rain. We are not sure about the etiquette of tooting a small horn at the time keeper while coming round for the second lap, but no doubt there is something in the CTT rules about it.

Things that slow you down on the Tin Can come in many forms of course, ranging from simply being seriously undergeared, like Cathy Melia on her Brompton – and would she have got closer to the Moulton Equipe with a higher ratio – to suffering a disintegration in the sprocket/driver area – as occurred to Andrew Thompson.

Your reporter found the middle gear of his three-speed magically disappearing after the second bend, (isn’t it wonderful how things like Sturmeys behave perfectly until the nervous tension of a time trial starts to kick in?) which was later discovered to be as a result of an un-secured cable guide gently sliding down the seat tube. Memo: Remember to tighten up all your nuts beforehand. If you have remembered that you need to have nuts to tighten up in the first place that is; by rights the Sock should have gone to the competitor whose chainwheel and cranks fell off their cotterless axle because of the total absence of any nuts at all.

Another slowing down effect is obtained by exploding tyres, as Minoru Mitsumoto found in missing his start by seven minutes. Interesting to see what a decent time can be achieved despite this sort of pre-ride hassle: with the late start minutes taken off, Minoru came in just one second adrift behind Graham Lansdell and two behind yours truly. How would that have looked if it had been a road race? Some of the most interesting machines at the Tin Can are often neither the fastest nor the most recent. Mike Christy’s 1892 front driver is a remarkable bicycle by any standard, representing the swan-song of the ‘Penny-farthing’ (or ‘Ordinary’ if you prefer)

configuration, in the face of the new-fangled chain driven ‘Safety’ .Even with pneumatics and a wheel reduced in size by the gearing-up of the Crypto hub the rider is still perched a long way off the ground. What a difference to compare this with Tim Dawson’s BSA speed machine of 20 years later, looking suprisingly modern with its low profile dropped top tube. Steve George’s slightly younger (but much larger BSA) also aspired to speed, with the addition of tri-bars; and they must have worked given his impressive time, well under evens.

It was also interesting to compare the 1910 Dursley Pedersen with the 1985 version, proving that there’s still a lot of life in this intriguing frame design. For those who think that ‘classic’ machines all look much the same (sacrilege!) the finish at least is sometimes worth remark; we could instance the handsome livery of the Raleigh Record Ace (not in the characteristic plain ‘flam’ red as favoured by Reg Harris) compared with the beautiful original bespoke harlequin diamond design on the Maclean Eclipse.

The organiser spoke to some folk in charge of a road scraper and a tarmac machine before this year’s event and was assured that the extremely rough bit of road between Kingston and the Sutton Bonington College corner was going to be repaired shortly. Let’s hope so. All riders will wish a big thanks to be offered to the Loughborough Phoenix who make this event possible and what is so much more, so enjoyable.

The following is left here for posterity (or no good reason) but it is 7 years out of date!! Unless you are a time traveller as well as a time trialer you'll be a little late for 2004 races.
Stuart Collins 2011
[The results of this event, and pictures and results of previous Tin Can events, can no longer be found on the previous site maintained by Brian Donnan].

We hope that all this can be done again next year, when it will probably be a week earlier in the sporting calendar.

If you cannot wait until then there is to be a track event on the 22nd of August at Halesowen with V-C.R.C. participation. There will also be another event on the 28th of August at the Milton Keynes Bowl circuit after the British Human Power meeting, and a similar one again on the 17th of October at the Eastway circuit in London. You can contact Phil Wray for more details; email phil@harwoodcycles.com and a link to info on the V-C.R.C. is at www.harwoodcycles.com while information on the Halesowen track is at www.halesowencycling.com]

David Eccles

David Eccles is the inspired Founder of the Tin Can Ten
These web pages were created and maintained by Brian Donnan.
* He did make it to Spain. Andalucia to be more accurate.